You are currently viewing 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM)
Treasurer Adam Turere and his assistant John Osimbo

2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

 During the 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at Karen Christian College on May 27, 2022, delegates elected Bishop Joseph Munialo of FPFK Kipsongo (Kitale) and Rev. John Kitur as the new Presiding Bishop and General Secretary respectively.

The above two take over from outgoing Presiding Bishop David Kiragu, who has opted to retire as  Rev. Kitur replaces Bishop Walter Andhoga, who did not recapture the seat.

History was also repeated as the outgoing GS returned the mantle back to Rev. Kitur, who also handed it over to him in 2013.

Bishop Munialo will be deputised by Mpeketoni’s Damson Kamau while Kitur will be assisted by FPFK Kericho Town Church’s Rev. Gideon Yegon.

Rev. Damson takes over from the late Bishop Gabriel Ouma, who died in June 2021 while Rev. Yegon replaces Pastor David Musumba.

The new Treasurer will be Adam Turere, assisted by John Osimbo.

The new nine National Trustees will be Stephen Kiarie, John Kibe, Pauline Kosgey, George Ojwang, Andrew Ogembo, Jacob Taga, Charles Njoroge, David Momanyi, and Timon Charles.

Delegates elected four women to the top leadership level as members.

The four are Alice Apiyo, Christine Auma, Margaret Karanja, and Anne Wanjiru.

Also, one more woman Pauline Kosgey was elected as National Trustee Member.

This brought to five, the total number of women in the top leadership.

This is thanks to the Church’s 2018 Constitution, which required the following leadership elections to consider the two-third gender rule, and the FPFK Elections Board led by its chairman Rev. Gabriel Riamet was keen to see that is adhered to.

For a long time, women have not been considered in the top leadership elections until the Church’s 2018 Constitution.

The peaceful elections that saw an overhaul of all the former leadership happened on the second day after a 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM).